MINNEAPOLIS (GopherSports.com) – The Big Ten Conference hockey coaches have selected two-time defending conference champion Gopher Hockey to finish second in the league, according to Monday’s preseason poll.

Along with the preseason poll, the Big Ten has also named Minnesota forwards Justin Kloos and Hudson Fasching on the 2015-16 Big Ten Preseason Players to Watch list.

The Big Ten coaches selected Michigan as the preseason favorite to win the six-team league, followed by Minnesota, Michigan State, Penn State, Ohio State and Wisconsin. Joining Kloos and Fasching on the Big Ten Players to Watch list were JT Compher, Kyle Connor and Zach Werenski of Michigan, Jake Hildebrand and Mackenzie MAcEachern of Michigan State, Anthony Greco and Nick Schilkey of Ohio State, David Goodwin and Eric Scheid of Penn State and Grant Besse of Wisconsin.

The 2015-16 Gopher Hockey season marks the 95th campaign in program history. Minnesota enters the season having won four-straight regular-season conference championships for the first time in modern history while the team swept the Big Ten regular-season and tournament titles last year. No team in the nation has had more wins over the last four years than Minnesota with 105 while the Maroon & Gold have also earned four-straight NCAA tournament berths including Frozen Four appearances in 2012 and 2014.

Tickets are currently available for purchase by contacting the University of Minnesota Ticket Office in Mariucci Arena at 612-624-8080 or 1-800-U-Gopher. Learn more at MyGopherSports.com.

For 24/7 news and sports check KROC AM and follow KROC-AM on Facebook